� Reaper

Something tells me I ought to feel guilty about my behavior towards Dominick.

Too bad I really don't.

Dad didn't take my refusing his offer to return to Metropolis very well. He sent Dominick to go over the account information, highlighting the funds I've been skimming from LuthorCorp and trying to track down where it was going. I warned Dominick, but he didn't listen.

Then he made a huge mistake.

He revealed to Clark's father that I'd investigated the accident, and Clark himself.

Dominick's timing couldn't have been worse, as usual. Clark had complained to me earlier in the week about his father's annual fishing trip tradition, and I offered him two tickets to see the Sharks game in Metropolis instead. I went to drop them off at the barn, and that's when I found out about Dominick's encounter with Clark's dad.

Needless to say, Clark's father was less than thrilled with me.

I decided as a peace offering to rescind on my ticket offer, and Clark continued to complain about his father's treatment of him. I tried to make Clark see how truly lucky he is to have a dad who actually sees him as something other than a public relations nightmare.

Then I went to deal with Dominick.

I put a mild sedative in his drink, waited until he passed out, and drove him, in the trunk of my car, back to Metropolis. My father was surprised, and even went so far as to compliment me on a job well done.

I was pretty pleased with myself, as well.

At least until I returned to the mansion, anyway. I found Clark waiting, all earnest boyscout, as usual. Apparently the quarterback's dad was back in the hospital, and the quarterback was upset his father would never get to see him play for a major league football team. Clark asked if I could arrange for the kid to play with the football team my father owns during a practice.

I don't think I've ever seen the differences between Clark and I more clearly then at that moment. I can't even begin to imagine what Clark would have said about my little Metropolis field trip.

So to appease the twinge of conscience I felt, and, of course, to appease Clark, I agreed.

Clark's father expressed his own pleasure with my actions during the practice. Then he asked me why I investigated Clark. I answered him honestly, telling him I knew what had happened was unexplainable, and that I wanted to understand why I was still alive.

He told me I didn't need an explanation for everything.

I have no idea why I care about his opinion of me. Perhaps because he's the complete opposite of my own dad. Perhaps because of the challenge.

Perhaps because I have no intention of ever giving up my friendship with Clark.

Whatever the reason, I do care. And I'm glad to have managed to soften Jonathan Kent towards me, however slightly.

But I'm more pleased to have actually heard genuine pride from my own dad.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.