� Drone

There's nothing more annoying then journalists.

Except pretty journalists.

I met the beautiful Miss Castle on my way home from the plant. Driving my usual speed down route 90 I passed a red mustang convertible. A pair of beautiful legs led up to the perfect figure working under the hood. I had to offer my assistance.

Beautiful woman, supposedly broken down mustang, over enthusiastic attitude. I'd been trapped by a reporter. I knew she was too good to be true. Class, style, the need to be rescued. She wanted nothing more from me than a one-on-one interview.

I don't do interviews.

Clark dropped by, I was glad he did. I had found a flyer on my car when I was in town earlier. Clark Kent for President. I found it interesting that Clark would run for class president. I have no doubt he would be great at it, it's just not something I saw him doing. He always seemed to want to avoid attention.

I must admit I was a little disappointed when I learned Clarks visit was only for Lana's sake. The Talon had been showing no profit since it opened. I told Clark that the Talon had to find it's way in the business world on it's own. Lana made it clear that she was in charge, I left it up to her to deal with it.

I changed the subject, telling Clark about my days in the student government. When he asked me for a few tips, I told him the truth; he didn't need advice from me, he'd win on his own. I found it flattering that he chose my words of encouragement to him as his new campaign slogan:

The man of tomorrow is forged by his battles today.

I decided to go to the Talon after all. I despised Lana, but she and the Talon meant something to Clark. Lana was less than thrilled to see me, even accused me of avoiding the place. I gave her some advice, not sure if she'll take it, but I never cared about the Talon. It was only a favor to Clark.

I usually enjoy the part of my day when I get my back massage. Until I found out the hands on my back belonged to Miss Castle. I almost left the session, but she wasn't half bad. And then she told me her new plan, to make her article about how I will outshine my father. That tempted me enough to agree to her interview. But I made sure she had to work for it.

After three whole days of questions, I decided to follow my instincts. I've never trusted journalists. When I got hold of Miss Castles rough draft of my story, I knew my instincts were correct all along. I asked her to meet me at the Talon. Seemed quiet enough lately for a confrontation. I demanded answers as to why she lied to me. At least she was honest. She wanted to make a name for herself, and as I was the hardest one to get an interview from, I would be helping her career tremendously.

What's really annoying? Journalists that won't take a bribe.

Clark lost the election. I was surprised, but maybe he wasn't ready to run the world just yet. Or at least his small corner of the world. I dropped in on the Talon, Lana was hosting the celebration party for the winner. And something happened that completely took me by surprise, and I'm almost ashamed to admit it.

I'm proud of Lana Lang.

Apparently she took my advice. Did some digging into the local competition and leaked a story to the press about the several health code violations the Beanery had. She played dirty, and I was proud.

Clark and I made small talk about politics. I told him he didn't need to be an elected official to change the world. I made comment to how I'd like to be President someday, he even offered me my slogan back. I told him it was his to keep.

Clark Kent: The Man of Tomorrow.

If you're worried about that nasty article, don't be. I took care of Miss Castle. Made her an offer she couldn't refuse. Squash the article, and she'll be the new Managing Editor of the Journal. She graciously accepted.

It seems my father wants me back in Metropolis more than I thought. After the episode with Dominick, I thought our battle was over. Apparently not, as Miss Castle confirmed my father was behind the whole interview scam. Another win for me, however. Better luck next time dad.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.