� Stray

My father returned from Monaco today with an interesting proposal. After reminding me of several Greek mythologic characters that had triumphed in their troubled youth, he asked me to return to Metropolis. The old man actually came close to complimenting me on how I've been running the plant here in this cow town.

I've grown fond of the cow town.

From the moment I was exiled to Smallville I wanted nothing more than to get out. Now my father's offered me the chance to leave. Come back to Metropolis. Be his 'special advisor to the chairman emeritus, ' meaning him. Back to Metropolis. Working side by side with my father. It's what I've wanted for months.

Why am I not jumping at this opportunity?

As if he knew I needed to see him, Clark phoned. Asked me to meet him at the Talon. It seems his parents had found a child out on route 90 and had been watching him until they could find out who he was. When I arrived at the Talon, I noticed the child, Ryan, reading a Warrior Angel comic book. Great way to break the ice, that was the only comic book I had actually been interested in, and had the entire collection.

I think Ryan's been at the Kents too long. His attitude towards me was much like Mr. Kents.

Clark seemed curious about my interest in Warrior Angel, I suppose he learns something new about me everyday. 'Strange visitor from another planet who protects the weak,' I explained to Clark, 'and the fact that he's bald made him my idol in my younger years'.

I enjoy surprising Clark Kent.

Clark suggested bringing Ryan by the mansion to see my collection, to which I agreed. Ryan seemed less than enthused, but I left the offer out there.

Clark followed me out to my car, apologized for Ryan's attitude. I told him he didn't have to, that I was used to people judging me by my name. I don't think he understands that I live with attitudes like Ryan's every day of my life.

One of the many Luthor curses.

I didn't get a chance to talk to Clark about my fathers offer, so I went to the Kent farm later that evening. I couldn't come right out and tell him, so I made small talk about the boy. Clark really cares for this kid, he made mention to wishing he had a brother. Then we got on the topic of siblings. When Clark asked me if I wished I had one, it was time to give Clark another piece of my history.

When I was eleven, my mother had another son, Julian. My father was thrilled, had Julian's life laid out before the child even came into the world. On the morning of his baptism, my mother found him dead in his crib. Sudden Infant Death Syndrome they called it. Julians death changed everything for my family. My fathers dreams of the perfect heir were crushed. And my mother was never the same.

Enough opening up for one day. There was no more stalling. I told Clark about my fathers offer in Metropolis. He asked me if I had told Ryan, to which I said no. I hadn't told anyone, I wanted Clark to be the first to know. After all, I consider him my best friend.

The look in Clarks eyes said much more than what he actually said to me. He seemed upset, but to his credit hid it well. I explained to him that although this is what I've wanted since coming to Smallville, things are different now. I was different. My life in Metropolis was fast-paced, care-free, and I caused more trouble for the people I cared about that I want to admit. Being away from my father has changed me somewhat. Either that, or having Clark as a friend.

I'm still not sure which is the truth.

He didn't beg me to stay, as I was hoping he would. That would've made my decision a hell of a lot more easier. Instead he told me, 'if there's anyone who can decide who they want to be, it's you Lex.' Sweet words of encouragement, I'll have to remember that.

My father wanted an answer. Even as I got into the limo to see him in Metropolis, I didn't know what I was going to do. I decided I need to see Clark one last time. Maybe give him a chance to beg me to stay. I needed him to say something, anything. Let me know that my basing my decision on him wasn't all for nothing.

I brought him a gift. I know Clark doesn't usually accept gifts from me, but I wanted to show him that leaving him would be difficult, and it at least warranted a gift.

I decided on my foil. It was the most memorable gift I could give him. I'd used it many times in fencing battles with my father, almost too philosophical for even my brain to grasp. The foil represents the inner battles I have within myself. The way I am in Metropolis versus the way I am in Smallville. Good versus Evil. I was tired of the struggle between the two.

'For what it's worth, I hope you stay.'

That's all I needed to hear.

If I didn't have Clarks words to make up my mind, being jabbed in the stomach with a shotgun on the way to Metropolis by my own limo driver was surely a sign from someone. Before I knew what was happening, Ryan was thrown into the backseat of my limo, and the driver was demanding the password to my trust fund. When I told the limo driver I didn't know it, Ryan told him I was lying.

What is with this kid? How did he know?

Next thing I knew, I was being thrown out of the limo. And suddenly there's Clark, asking me if I was okay. I was fine, a little bruised, but I've been through worse. I told Clark that they had Ryan.

When I turned around to look at him, he was gone.

I was thankful my cell phone still worked, called my head of security and had a car sent for me. My father, I'm sure, wouldn't be happy about my missing the dinner.

My father made no mention of it when he was in my study the next morning. He had assumed I was going to accept his offer, and was quite upset when I turned him down.

My father never has had faith in me. The fact that I've been doing well here in Smallville frightens him. I believe that's the real reason he wanted me back in Metropolis. He's afraid I may just take over his company from this cow town.

And as my father left, disappointed and frustrated, and no doubt planning his next move, I feel like I've made the right decision.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.