� Exodus

I shouldn't be thinking of Clark right now.

I'm on a plane, Helen asleep beside me, on the way to our honeymoon. And I'm still trying to figure out why Clark didn't show up to my wedding. He was, after all, supposed to be my best man.

The only explanation that seems remotely plausible is a result of our last conversation. I'd hate to think that, because I didn't think to call and tell him, he decided not to show up. It would be just like him, though, as some kind of attempt to spare me further public humiliation.

I suppose I should have explained that better. You'll have to forgive me, as I'm a bit tired at the moment myself.

Anyway, yesterday I decided to do something extremely unusual for a Luthor. Something extremely unusual personally, as well. I told Helen that I had taken the vial of blood from her. She was predictably hurt and upset, but she got over it the next day and agreed to be my wife just the same.

Before that occurred, though, I spoke to Clark. Obviously I couldn't tell him all the details, so I guess he thinks I had an affair. I did cancel the fitting for his tuxedo... that could explain his absence from the wedding, as well. Maybe he didn't have one... no, he did have one. He wore it to the prom. Perhaps it was ruined in the tornado. I shouldn't have cancelled it, I should have anticipated Helen's change of heart.

If he really thought the wedding was completely off, though, why would his parents have come without him? I'm glad they were there, at least, although they were unable to stay for the actual wedding. Still, it was nice to have Jonathan Kent's support. -- I never imagined I'd ever say those words. Or type, if you will.

I'd like to apologize for my lack of coherency. I just wish Clark could have been there. And beyond that, I'm not really feeling like myself, at the moment.

I think I've drunk a bit too much champagne.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.