� Calling

The day is coming.

I had Walden under strict supervision since his lapse into a coma. Whatever happened to him in those caves must have had some effect on him. His doctor called me the second he woke up. "The day is coming," Walden said, three times, before falling back asleep. My orders were clear; next time he wakes up, call me immediately.

I went to see the Kents the next day. Since my father and I have embraced the rift between us, I felt it best he not come to the wedding. Tradition states that the bride and groom sit with their parents at the rehearsal dinner, so I needed to fill those seats. If given a choice of parents, I'd want the Kents. They, along with their son, have become an important part of my life.

The feeling hasn't always been mutual, so the moment I asked them to sit in for my parents at the dinner was slightly awkward. When Mr. Kent said that it would be their honor to fill in, I was relieved. Given my instant good mood, I had to push Clark about the last empty seat. The seat next to him.

I left the Kents and headed towards the hospital. Helen had the rest of the seating chart in place and wanted me to look at it. When I informed her the Kents had accepted my offer, she didn't look happy. She suggested I reach out to my father, but I think there's more to her hesitation.

Mental note: keep locked doors locked.

Helen's office at the hospital was broken into. She went straight for the mini-fridge, and seemed on edge the rest of the afternoon. Whatever was in that fridge must have been important, she didn't tell me what it was.

While the police were going over Helen's office, Clark called me. Asked me if I could meet him back at the castle. He was there when I arrived, uneasy about something. He admitted that things were getting serious between he and Lana, but now she was pushing him away. I advised him as best as I could, but their relationship is in his hands.

The day is coming.

What day, I don't know. But that's all Walden has been saying since he came out of his coma. I asked his doctor what he thinks that phrase means, but he didn't have a clue. Brain scans were normal, but it's clear Walden has cracked. Not only has he cracked, but now he has some abnormal powers.

He broke himself out of the lab where I was holding him. One burst of energy from his hand and the glass was broken, Walden gone. On the ceiling of his room were symbols similar to those in the caves. Clark confirmed what they said:

The day is coming.

I felt I had to let Clark in on what Walden was rambling about. I know too much about the situation; I know Clark is involved in this. From what I know about Clark, I'm a bit concerned for his safety. Even after he lied to me, again, I'm still concerned.

I went back to the castle to get changed for the dinner. My father stopped by, informing me that my restraining order to keep him away from the caves was rejected. He threw out some other pieces to my puzzle that he was aware of. But that wasn't the worst of it.

Walden showed up while my father was there. I tried to shut him up, but he wouldn't stop. He figured out what the writing on the cave walls said, and figured out a way to prevent 'the day' from coming.

Kill Clark Kent.

Restrained Walden for the time being. Long enough for me to get rid of my father, take care of Walden, and get to the rehearsal dinner. I've come to the conclusion that my father knows too much. I'm not sure how I'm going to handle that, something to think about at a later time.

I apologised to Helen for arriving late. She accepted my lame excuse and allowed me to leave her once again. I found Clark and told him everything Walden had said. If I was the only one to hear Walden's ramblings, I wouldn't have bothered. But if my father knows half as much as I know, Clark could be in trouble.

I told Clark everything. What the cave walls said, Walden's ramblings, and that my father believed every word of it. Once Clark heard that my father knew, he didn't bother to lie. He didn't come clean, but he listened to my warning.

To his credit, Clarks speech at the rehearsal dinner was perfect. Unfortunately when he was through, something came over him and he had to leave. I'm not worried, I know he can take care of himself.

The dinner concluded, Helen and I were finally alone. Something had been bothering her since the break in at her office. She admitted that she had been going through my things and found the medical file on Martha Kent. I told her the truth about how I got it. She seemed upset that I would bribe someone for information on someone I cared about.

My turn for confrontation. I asked her what exactly she was looking for while snooping around my files. She said she was looking for something that was stolen from her office. I told her that if she really felt I was capable of breaking into her office, maybe she shouldn't be marrying me.

She said I was right, and walked out of the room. And as I went to my bookcase and made sure the vile of blood stolen from her office was still in it's concealed location, I thought to myself, "what a smart woman."

The day is coming.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.