� Suspect

My father was all set to leave for Metropolis when he was shot. He almost died.

I can't count the number of times since the tornado that I've second-guessed my decision. That I've wondered if everything wouldn't have been easier if I'd just let my father die. And more than a handful of times when I believed it with all my heart.

I was wrong.

I don't want my father to die.

I just want him to approve of me. Even more shameful? I want him to love me.

I thought I'd gotten over that a long time ago.

I got the call while I was in Metropolis. As soon as I arrived at the hospital, Dominick was there, hovering, pretending to be concerned. I asked him if he was secretly hoping my father wouldn't make it. If my dad died, it would give Dominick a lot of power. He turned around and accused me of being the one who shot him. He mentioned I'd almost let him die once.

I wonder how many people my father's told about that.

Then he said that, after what happened yesterday, I'd have enough reason to want him dead.

I lost my temper and threw him up against the wall.

The sonofabitch deserved it.

I stayed at the hospital until the next morning, waiting for an update. The doctor finally told me that he was in a coma, and if he didn't wake up within twenty-four hours, he probably never would.

Clark showed up asking to speak with the sheriff, who was there with me when the doctor gave his update. Considering that Mr. Kent was the prime suspect, I decided to leave them alone rather than risk getting into an argument with Clark. I just didn't feel up to it.

Instead I went home. After an hour or two of attempting sleep, I decided to do some work on my computer.

Clark showed up that night, accusing me of setting up his father. He even went so far as to point out that he'd seen me shot someone before. Yes, to protect his miserable dad's Luthor-hating life. It amazes me how quickly Clark can forget almost two years of friendship at the slightest provocation.

I kicked Clark out of the mansion before any irreperable damage was done.

I suppose Dominick must have told Clark about what happened between me and my dad the other day. How my father had manipulated members of LexCorp into selling their stocks to him, effectively dismantling my company. Yes, I was furious about it. In fact, I'd go so far as to say it was one of the many times since the tornado that I've wished I'd done things differently. But at no point did I seriously contemplate shooting my father. And certainly I'd have never framed Clark's dad if I had done so.

How Clark could suspect that I would, even for a moment, is beyond me.

I saw Clark the next day at the hospital. He'd narrowly escaped some kind of danger, and his friend Pete Ross was just barely well enough to leave on his own. I decided Clark needed to know what I suspected was really going on.

So I told him I thought Dominick might have pulled the trigger.

Clark demanded more details, and I obliged. I told him why the decision to buy out LexCorp affected Dominick just as much, if not more, than it did me. My return meant that his dreams of massive career advancement were at an end. After my father had told me about his buy out, I'd stormed out of the office, but, having forgotten my keys, I went back. That's when I overheard Dominick and my father arguing, heatedly, over my possible return.

Dominick actually believed that, if I wasn't a member of LuthorCorp, he'd have a shot at second in command. The poor bastard had no clue how truly dispensible he was, is, and ever shall be.

Clark asked if I thought Dominick was really angry enough to try and kill my father. I told him absolutely, if it meant seizing the reigns of a billion dollar company. He asked why I kept that information to myself, and I told him I didn't want the police looking in my direction. Clark got understandably angry, until I told him I'd only waited because I wanted to be absolutey sure his father hadn't done it. And now, after Clark and Pete almost died, I was sure.

Clark was angry, but willing to work together.

Unfortunately, I didn't see how I could be much help to Clark or his father. I had no intention of leaving the hospital with Dominick still snooping around.

Clark had his father's lawyer check into alibis, and while mine (obviously) checked out, Dominick's didn't.

Clark called me later, and asked that I have my father moved to another room. We put the word out that my dad's condition was improving, and then we waited for the shooter to try again.

Which he did.

The man who tried to kill my father was the sheriff.

Huh.

My father's condition had genuinely improved, at least. I left the hospital and went to check on Clark. He told me his dad claimed to be alright, but that he and the sheriff had been friends since highschool. Clark said Mr. Kent was having a hard time accepting his friend framed him for murder.

Clark expressed his sympathies about my company, and asked me what I was going to do now. I told him the truth, that I couldn't imagine working for a man who could enrage four people to the point where any one of them had motive to kill him. Clark commented that I was including myself on that list.

Yes, I suppose I was.

I asked Clark if we were okay, and while he didn't answer, he did say he was sorry he couldn't help me more when it came to dealing with my father. I don't think anyone is capable of helping me in that regard.

Still, I knew I had to deal with him eventually. So I left the comfort of Clark's loft and headed towards the hospital.

I'm really getting sick of that place.

My father said he'd heard I'd had a busy few days. There's an understatement. I informed him that Sheriff Ethan had been charged with murder (he'd killed the bartender who claimed Mr. Kent was drunk that night) and attempted murder. Then I asked him to tell me the real story behind all that had happened.

My father bribed the sheriff into revealing incriminating information about the townspeople who were on the board of LexCorp. Then my father blackmailed those people into selling their shares to him, enabling his takeover of my company. The sheriff must've realized that now that he was in bed with my father, he would never be able to get out. So he plotted to kill him.

Understandable.

I asked my father how it felt, knowing he'd taken a decent man and had drove him to murder, almost ruining Mr. Kent's life in the process. My father replied that if I hadn't started the buyout in the first place, none of it would have happened. He also said that he forgave me.

He forgave me. The depths of my father's delusions astound me.

I left the hospital room as soon as the pillows began to look a little too tempting a weapon.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.