� Visitor

I gave Helen the opporunity to back out of the relationship. She seemed upset about the latest tabloid headlines, and she still hadn't moved in yet. I assumed she wasn't up to the challange of living with me. When I offered to take care of every excuse she gave me, she finally caved.

I almost feel guilty.

I have been going to the Talon everyday for two weeks now. Lana has been unknowingly filling me in on Clark's life. I hadn't seen him in a while, which is why I was surprised he was actually at the Talon when I arrived.

Clark had his nose buried in yet another research book, Identity Crisis and Mental Illness. He claimed it was for a friend, a new lie I hadn't heard yet. I pushed, he offered. His 'friend' claimed to be an alien. To which I told Clark immediately that he wasn't.

Aliens don't go around telling people they are aliens, right?

When Clark responded in agreement, I knew he wasn't lying. The friend situation must be real. I made an attempt to comfort Clark, and then I had to ask.

Do you believe there are aliens among us Clark?

He dodged the question, of course. Clark is good at that. Maybe one day he'll realise that he can't lie to me anymore. I offered to help his friend, but Clark remained faithful and refused to give me his name. That's fine, Lana will tell me I'm sure.

I smiled through the entire exchange. It's no longer insulting that Clark lies to me. It's entertaining.

I could see Clark was uncomfortable about the conversation, so I switched topics. Informed him that I heard about his offer to Lana to keep the quarterbacks horse at the farm. When he said she had no where else to keep the horse, I let him know the truth. I had offered to take in the horse, but Lana turned me down. Held out for the offer from Clark.

She really is spending too much time with me.

Lana proved me right. She filled me in on the miracle recovery of her horse, saved by the 'alien' friend of Clarks. I got his name and address and waited for him at his home. No surprise I ran into Clark.

When he asked me why I was there, I told him the truth. I've always wanted to meet an alien. I even told him my theory about the meteor shower being the perfect time for a ship to land on earth, and how the contents of the caves forced me to have an open mind.

Again, I smiled through the entire conversation. Who knew secrets could be so much fun?

Especially when Helen wanted in on my secret.

She demanded we have no secrets between us. Told me to show her everything or she'd walk. Not a problem, I knew her curious mind wouldn't let her leave it alone.

She wanted access to the only locked room in the mansion. I have a feeling she's regretting that demand. I didn't give in right away, I made her work for it a little. After all, that room is my most prized posession. I don't show it to just anyone. The only other person to see that room was Clark. At that time, only the car was there.

I showed her everything. The car I hit Clark with, the information from the caves, the octagonal disk, everything. Computers analyzing the crash, the disk, the cave paintings, the language. She was speechless at first, and then made comment to all the information I had on the Kents. No secrets between us she had said. I wonder if that applies to medical records?

Lana filled me in on Clark's alien friend. Apparently he was sent to the psych ward for observation, and then somehow escaped. Much like Ryan I'd imagine. After a supposed mental breakdown, he ended up in a coma and sent to the hospital in Metropolis.

I wonder if he is sharing a room with Walden.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.