� Shimmer

Have I mentioned lately how much I dislike sharing the mansion?

Victoria has been here working on my ego, among other things. I know her game, she's just like all the other beautiful women that come into my life. They only want two things: power and money. And they seem to think seducing me is the way to get it.

I simply allow them to believe they're succeeding.

I found it extremely hard not to smile when Amy, the daughter of a member of my staff, dropped an entire tray of drinks on Victoria. Understandably upset, but acting like the spoiled rich brat she is (takes one to know one right?), Victoria demanded I have Amy removed from the mansion, claiming Amy had a 'thing' for me.

I don't take orders from anyone, especially in regard to my own home.

Later on that day, when I got out of the shower, I noticed my watch was missing. I must have torn the mansion apart three times over searching for it. I was so caught up in the search, I hadn't heard Clark come in. I ordered some tulips from the Kents for Victoria, to try and calm her down from the Amy incident.

The strangest thing happened; immediately after I told Clark that tulips were Victoria's favorite, the entire box was thrown to the floor. Clark and I were the only ones in the room. Stranger things have happened around Clark.

I think I noticed some jealousy in Clark's voice when he made a comment about how close Victoria and I were getting. He even said she wasn't my type.

I didn't think Clark actually had considered what my type was.

I tried to explain to him that our relationship wasn't exactly one formed from love, but I think he misunderstood.

Then he dropped the bomb on me.

He decided to fight for Lana. Claiming he was finally taking the advice of a friend, being me. Damn me and my advice.

I had no comment after that statement, so I decided to continue searching for my watch, hoping the furniture would hide my disappointment. I was thankful when Clark stuck around and changed the subject, asking me why I was on the hunt for my watch. I explained to him it couldn't be replaced, it was a gift from my mother.

He seemed to almost scan the study, looking intently around the room without moving anything, and told me he didn't see it. Then began to tell me that because he lived on a farm, he was good at finding needles in haystacks.

Add that to the list.

He was sweet about it though, offered to search the library for me. All of the sudden I hard this loud noise coming from upstairs. I came running out of the study, Clark running out of the library, and we both headed upstairs to see what it was. Behind the guest bedroom door, Victoria's room, came a bright light. When I touched the doorknob, the door stopped shaking. Suddenly it burst open on it's own, which surprised me. I ended up jumping back into Clark's arms.

Intense, yet beautiful.

When we entered the room, it was completely trashed. Someone had spraypainted the words 'Leave' and 'Go Away' all over the walls.

Of course now Victoria felt the need to sleep in my room. I wonder if she did this herself?

The next day, my wonderful father came to visit. When he walked in on Victoria and I kissing, the look on his face was priceless. We had our usual verbal battle about family loyalties and such, my father was less than approving of Victoria being here.

It's always business he reminds me. Of course I know this, it's part of my plan. But I enjoy watching my father sweat, so I play it off, knowing Victoria is most likely listening behind the closed door.

Later that evening, Clark paid me another visit. He said he wanted to talk about Victoria. For a minute I thought he was going to tell me again how wrong she was for me, how I needed to be with someone more like...

Anyway, instead he told me that he found her going through my computer last night. Nothing I didn't know, but I was grateful for him looking out for me. I tried harder this time to make him understand that there was nothing between Victoria and I, although there may appear to be on the outside. I needed Clark to understand that.

Clark changed the subject, then revealing to me that Amy had a crush on me. He seemed almost upset about it when he told me, like he was jealous of that crush as well as being jealous of Victoria.

I couldn't bare seeing that expression on Clark's face, so I changed the subject to Lana. He seemed thankful for me bringing it up, as it seems the quarterback has been keeping something from Lana, and Clark was aware of it. The revelation of the quarterbacks secret brought back some painful memories of my mother, Clark noticed the pain in my voice I think and apologized. I told Clark the history behind my missing watch, to try and show him that I was okay to talk about it, and wanted to talk about it with him.

I'm not quite sure what happened after that. Clark had excused himself, as it was late and he had to get home. Next thing I know, he's carrying Victoria down the stairs. Apparently someone got into the mansion, choked Victoria in the bathroom, attacked Clark, and ran out.

Fire the security staff, useless fucks.

I had her flown to Metropolis to be checked out and get away from the strange things in the mansion. It was the best nights sleep I've had since she's been here.

The next day I met up with Clark at the coffee shop. He seemed genuinely upset, so being the concerned friend that I am, I asked him what was wrong. We talked about his conflict over the information on the quarterback, and I almost revealed to him how much I admire him.

We were interupted by Amy, who had seen my car outside and dropped in to say hello. I think I threw a little extra Luthor charm her way to play off my previous exposure of feelings towards Clark. Stupid, I know, the girl has a crush on me. When she left us, Clark had a strange look on his face. I asked him what was going on in that head of his, and he informed me that he'd seen my watch. On Amy.

I brought Clark with me to the staff house on my estate. I informed Amy's mother that we had suspicion Amy was taking things from the house. She graciously allowed us to go to Amy's room and check. We did indeed find my watch, as well as a teenage shrine devoted to me.

I think Clark was more upset than I was.

The only logical course of action was to have Amy and her family leave the estate. I offered to pay for any counseling Amy needed, which was obvious that it was needed.

Later that evening I was in my study at the computer, I remember that much. I'm not sure what happened after that, but I woke up with a painful headache, tied up, and on the floor.

Another blow to my skull. Great.

I remember hearing a voice, Jeff, Amy's brother I think it was. He was extremely upset that I was sending his sister and family away. I have no idea where he was, what was happening. I think I was hit on the head a little too hard. I couldn't see him. But I could feel him. See the sword coming at me.

I think I heard Clark at the front door and yelled for him. Everything went black again after that.

All I remember was waking up in Clark's arms, him talking to me, asking me if I was okay. I remained quiet for a few minutes, not wanting the moment to end.

Clark had saved me yet again.

And I missed the whole thing.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.