� Rush

I knew the caves would prove to be a worthwhile investment. I expected them to one day be the greatest find on this planet. Instead, they've become a crime scene.

I fired my security guard the second I learned there was a rave held in the caves, and that one of it's attendants had taken a swan dive to his death. Before his dismissal, the guard informed me that Clark had been by almost every day.

Why am I not surprised?

I went to survey the damage and found Clark beginning to clean up. I had crews for that, he didn't need to. I took the opportunity to ask Clark why he was so interested in the caves. Asked him if he was keeping secrets from me. He lied, again. I should be getting used to that. He made mention to some school project, but I knew better. We both had similar goals, decipher the paintings and the writing.

If Clark knew everything I knew, and I knew everything he knew, we'd probably answer all of each others questions. But I don't see that happening in the near future.

Clark had a book on him about hieroglyphics. The author, Fredrick Walden, was supposed to be an expert in the field. I'd have to find him.

Clark asked me why I started the preservation project. At least I was honest with him. I told him I liked a good mystery, and this one promised to be fascinating. I don't think Clark liked my answer, as he made mention to the fact that he had to leave.

Before he left, I told him no one was allowed in the caves anymore without my permission. Except for him of course. The smile and nod was almost a thank you.

Almost.

I tracked down Dr. Walden and asked him to come to Smallville. He wasn't impressed with my checkbook, but he was more than impressed with the cave drawings. He is an arrogant son of a bitch, but efficient and knowledgeable. I needed him.

Which unfortunately meant kicking Clark out of the caves. Dr. Walden was strict on allowing no one but his team access to the caves. He wouldn't even hear me out when I told him Clark was a personal friend. When Walden threatened to abandon the project if I allow anyone in the caves, I had to give in. Clark was noticeably upset, but failed in giving me a reason I should continue to allow him in the caves.

A few hours later when Walden called me to return to the caves, I knew I made the right decision. He had state of the art equipment in place, his team hard at work. Already he had found something of interest. A parasite living within the walls of the caves, and a picture of that parasite was among the cave drawings. Under the picture was some writing that he hadn't deciphered yet. I told him to ship the live specimens immediately to Cadmus labs for further testing.

I need to talk to Clark. I wanted to make him understand my reasons for banning him from the caves. When I went to see him on the farm, he seemed a little pre-occupied. Chloe was there, in his arms, and Pete wasn't far behind. All three of them were acting strange, as if they were on something. One interesting thing to note however; when I walked in, Chloe had asked Clark if I knew. What she was talking about, I'm not exactly sure. Clarks response was, "no, I only tell people who don't go around stabbing me in the back and lying to me."

Like he's one to talk.

Obviously Clark was upset about the caves. When Chloe and Pete gave us a moment alone, Clark was angry, even hateful towards me. The words he said were not something I would expect to come out of Clark's mouth.

Except for that time he was extremely well dressed and wanted to run away to Metropolis with me.

Then he told me he was going into the caves regardless. Even dared me to stop him. So I confronted him one last time. Asked him if this was really about some term paper. Instead of answering me, he pushed me, hard, and said he was leaving.

I warned him he was dangerously close to crossing the line with his attitude, to which he told me to 'stay the hell away' from him. I'm beginning to wonder if Clark Kent is really Jekyll and Hyde.

Cadmus Labs called. They informed me that the parasite's DNA wasn't like anything on this Earth. Just like the octagonal disk wasn't made from any metal on this Earth. Possible alien origin.

All the pieces are falling into place.

With one exception. I informed Dr. Walden that Clark Kent was to be allowed access to the caves. He resisted of course, but he doesn't know everything I know. He hasn't seen everything I've seen.

Clark Kent is the missing piece to the puzzle.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.