� Rosetta

I almost killed Clark with my car.

Again.

He was lying in the middle of the road late at night... and considering the speed I was going, it's downright miraculous I was able to break in time. I drove him home, and he evaded my concerned questions, saying he'd been sleepwalking.

I thought Clark and I had been making some progress recently in terms of our relationship.

Everything that's transpired from then to now makes me believe the opposite.

My father caught wind of a plan Dr. Walden had to remove a section of cave wall for study. He alerted the state, and they called me to complain and threaten to remove me as owner. I had a brief conversation with Walden, and informed him he had three days to show me some results, or he would become the reservationists scapegoat.

I took some time out to visit the caves myself, and found Clark once again unconscious. The guards warned me before I came in that they'd heard an explosion, but nothing looked damaged. I shook Clark awake and he once again claimed sleep-walking, then went on to say he'd been down there to finish up some work for Dr. Walden. Of course, Dr. Walden came and disputed that claim without even hearing it.

Clark tried to leave, but I stopped him and pleaded with him to go to a hospital and get himself checked out. He swore it wasn't necessary, but I banned him from coming down to the caves without company just the same. It's a dangerous place to be unconscious in.

Dr. Walden complained about my letting Clark just leave when he obviously knew more than he was saying. However, if nothing else, I've learned my lesson about letting unknowns investigate Clark.

After hearing about a suspicious fire at Clark's barn, I decided it was time to have a serious conversation with him. I finally found him at the Talon with Lana, but he was on his way out. However, I did notice the hurry he was in to dispose of a piece of paper. I picked the paper up and found Clark had been drawing marks that matched the ones from the cave on his geneology homework.

I showed the page to Dr. Walden, and while he was somewhat skeptical, he did agree to work with Clark. Especially after I showed him the marks left over from the fire -- they're an exact duplicate of the marks on the octagonal disk.

Unfortunately, Dr. Walden didn't get the opportunity. After yet another trip to the caves, Dr. Walden is now comatose. The doctors don't hold out much hope of his waking up.

I saw Clark at the hospital and, unable to keep my suspicions to myself, confronted him. He turned hostile, demanding to know why I'd care so much about an old native american language.

I told him I didn't think it was native american.

His hostile demeanor turned downright nasty as he mocked me for even considering the possibility that it might be an alien language. Before I had time to muster a proper response, he received a letter from a postman who'd apparently been hard at work tracking him down.

Of course, Clark wouldn't open it in front of me. Instead he claimed it was junk mail.

Unless Clark's won publisher's clearing house, I rather doubt that.

I always knew Clark was hiding something from me. But I was willing to let it go. However, this time I'm not investigating Clark. I'm investigating cave drawings.

And there's nothing Clark can do or say to stop me.

Unless, of course, he decides to be honest.

I won't be holding my breath.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.