� Redux

I seem to have a way of putting my foot in my mouth.

Well, maybe only once or twice.

I walked into the Talon and overheard a conversation between Clark and Lana. It seems Lana found pictures of her mother with some man, mystery man as Clark put it. I made a comment as to what an attractive couple they made. But when I noticed the look on Lana and Clarks face, I realized that was the wrong thing to say.

There could be several reasonable explanations I told her. That didn't seem to satisfy Lana's curiosity, as later she asked me to look into the 'mystery man.' I don't make it a habit to do favors for Lana Lang, but since Clark is still somewhat obsessed with her, I made yet another exception.

I gave her fair warning though; she may not like what my people find.

I then offered to take Clark to school, and in doing so, ran into a piece of my past. Clark's new principal, Mr. Reynolds. One of the few men in my childhood that made a difference in my life. He was the head master at Excelsior Prep when I was fourteen and attended the prominent school. As I told Clark, Reynolds was an inspiration to me. He made me realize that my actions were my own, that I should take responsibility for them.

If only he'd known what I've been through since we last saw each other. I believe he would be disappointed.

Nonetheless, he was one of the few people that made a difference during my troubled youth. After all, being a fourteen year old bald kid in an elite school brought on some pretty thick walls and a bad attitude.

Clark informed me that Mr. Reynolds wasn't as proud of me as maybe I hoped he would've been. Clark also told me that due to our association, Mr. Reynolds was being especially hard on him. I apologized to Clark, I didn't realize the price Clark pays for being a friend of mine.

But the Clark Kent smile once again made me feel better.

Clark was having some problems at home with his father and his grandfather. I offered what advice I could, and then made my way to the high school. It was time to confront my past, and ask Mr. Reynolds to back off Clark.

He was less than thrilled to see me. I made some small talk in an attempt to break the ice. Then I thanked him, for pushing me, for having a part in making me the man I am today.

What he told me was rather upsetting, but not surprising. As I said, I wasn't the model student back then. I was up for expulsion due to my many disruptive acts. I didn't make the connection back then. I just know I wasn't expelled, and Mr. Reynolds was gone the following week.

My father had a hand in ruining this great mans career. In turn, ruining any further relationship between Mr. Reynolds and I. I believe Clark has tried to plead my case on a few accounts, but Mr. Reynolds is firm in his beliefs. A Luthor is a Luthor. We are all the same.

At least Mr. Reynolds will get along with Mr. Kent.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.