� Obscura

"You can't keep putting your life on hold because of Lana."

"But if she sees me with someone else, it's like I'm saying the door's closed."

That's the conversation I overheard when I went to the Kent farm. I'm curious what it was about, as Clark left in a hurry after I showed up. Maybe Chloe I guess.

The insurance paperwork from the chemical spill had come in, so I wanted to drop off the check to Mr. and Mrs. Kent personally. Mr. Kent seemed surprised at the amount, asking if my friendship with Clark had an influence over it. I assured him that the check covered the herd and the land that he'd lost, nothing more.

I told him that I wanted to leave all the doubt between us in the past. Took a deep breath and extended my hand to him. He graciously shook it. I'm not sure why, but Mr. Kents approval of me seems more important than my own fathers.

Nixon came by to see me. He was more than upset with me at Miss Castles interview of me in the Journal. I had asked her to squash it, but given her new promotion, she felt obligated to re-write it and flatter me a little. Nixon then informed me that he was still investigating in Smallville. I had to remind him once again.

The Kents are under my protection, and off-limits.

It seems Nixon has been looking into the meteor shower instead. He gave me the name of a witness and suggested I go talk to him. So we went for a ride.

His name was Eddie Cole. He lived out in the middle of nowhere, off several dirt roads. I had no doubts I would hear about the dirt in my engine from my mechanic at a later date. This mans appearance was enough to make anyone think he was crazy. I offered him six hundred dollars for his story on the meteor shower. To him that must have seemed like thousands.

He says a spaceship came down in the meteor shower.

I don't know if there's any truth into what Mr. Cole had to offer, but it was worth a look. I had surveyors meet me at the spot Mr. Cole said the spaceship crashed. We were in the process of taking a few soil samples when Clark and Mr. Kent showed up. My day taking a turn for the worse.

Mr. Kent seemed extremely upset that I was interested in purchasing the land. He even returned the check I had given him. When I told him I didn't understand, he said he didn't expect me to. Clark tried to apologize for his fathers behavior, but I blew him off. I couldn't have him see the hurt in my eyes. Mr. Kent had denied me again.

One thing did brighten my day a little. Hamilton made an interesting discovery. A strange metal object with some kind of writing on it. It didn't look like any language I'd studied. Hamilton seemed over excited about it, so I looked forward to seeing his reports.

I felt the need to visit the Kent farm. Mr. Kent was very upset about my choice in land purchases, and I'm wondering if it had anything to do with Clark. I've only seen him react that way when Clark was involved. The day of the accident he had that same look in his eyes.

I found Clark in the loft doing some research of his own. Clark didn't shed any light into why Mr. Kent was so upset, blamed it on money problems and such. Then I saw it. The look in Clarks eyes. He didn't believe me either.

I'm not sure why, but I couldn't stand him looking at me like that. Clark hinted that he knew what it was about. Told me he knew how I got obsessed about things, such as the car accident. Did he know that more than the meteors may have crashed in that field?

What is it about Clark Kent that makes me tell him the truth?

I told him about Mr. Cole. About the possible spacecraft. About how I had to know what happened that day, the day that changed my life. He asked me when I was going to be able to put the past behind me. And I tried to explain to him as best as I could.

The past is always influencing the present.

He acted surprised when I mentioned the spaceship, even tried to joke about it. But something in his eyes led me to believe he'd already heard about it. Or knew something about it.

Hamilton reported back to me on the object that was found in the field. He seemed like a kid in the candy store when I asked him what the scientists had discovered.

No elements from this planet were found in the object.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.