� Metamorphosis

I decided to go to the farmers market today. Normally I despise social gatherings of the locals, but I knew Clark would be there. I assumed the Kents would have their produce booth set up, and I'd be able to ask Clark what the hell happened last night.

He called it a stupid prank, and blew off the subject. Mr. Kent shook my hand, I'll take that for what it's worth. I know how he feels about my father; I feel the same. As Clark was obviously not in the mood to speak of last nights events, I made a substantial purchase of Kent produce, knowing he'd deliver it. Perhaps then we could talk.

I then made my way to see Nell. Clark had been eyeing her niece at the market. I know Clark just met me, taking my advice on a situation such as love wouldn't be easy for him. At least not yet. So I decided to check in with Nell, meet Lana for myself.

I found her in the stables and introduced myself. To which she informed me that we had already met, about six years ago. She had been to my fathers estate, where I was pre-occupied with my current girlfriend skinny dipping in the pool. Damn first impressions.

I laid on the Luthor charm, admiring her collection of ribbons and awards for riding. I brought up the accident I had heard about on my way over. Lana's boyfriend, the quarterback, was in a terrible car accident. Clark and his parents had been driving by when it happened. Apparently Clark got the quarterback out of the truck before it exploded. He saves the day yet again, why am I not surprised?

It was my opportunity to put in a good word for Clark. I don't think Lana appreciated my comments about her boyfriend, as she accused me of having a lot of opinions for someone so new to Smallville.

Since my charm had apparently worn off, I decided to plant the seed of doubt, shake her faith in the quarterback, for Clarks sake. I hinted towards the events of last night, letting her know that her trusted boyfriend may have been involved in something prior to the big game. Told her to say hello to her Aunt for me, and I made my exit.

When I arrived at the mansion, Clark was waiting for me. I joked with him, asked him if he'd saved any lives on the way over. He was dropping off my produce, as I knew he would. He made mention to my battlefield table, and I told him the story of when my father had given it to me.

I then went into detail about the Battle of Troy, knowing it was something Clark could relate to, given his current situation with Lana and the quarterback. All of which led me to confronting him again about last night. Clark said that the war had been won by the quarterback, and I reminded him he had only lost the battle, not the war.

Poor Clark. He's convinced that the quarterback is like a God, and that no one would look at Clark twice. I would.

It was time to present him with my gift. As he's already refused one of my gifts, I knew he'd accept this one. It was Lana's necklace, made from a fragment of a meteor that killed her parents. I found it in the field last night after Clark left.

I kept it enclosed in a lead box my mother had given to me before she died. When I told Clark the history of the box, Clark refused to take it, until he saw what was inside. He seemed a bit shaken up when I showed him the necklace. I explained to him that this was his Trojan Horse. He would reserve a spot in her heart forever if he returned it to her. Finally he accepted.

I don't know what my fascination is with Clark. Our friendship will forever be based on the fact that he saved my life. Since he refuses any material gifts I give him, I hope I can impart some wisdom from my experiences. And, as always, I look forward to our next encounter.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.