� Hug

There's nothing I hate more than public relations, especially with members of the public whom I despise.

Still, Victoria insisted we put in an appearance at Rickman's 'party', if you could call such a gathering of pretentious, pompous businessmen and women a party. And so I did my duty, and in the process learned of Rickman's interest in the Kent farm for his developmental projects.

Clark seems to take issue with my warning him, but I still felt the need to let him know about the shark circling his family home.

The warning itself actually went well this time. Clark reminded me of the nature of his father (as if I could forget), but promised to warn his parents to be careful.

I guess he just didn't stress the 'careful' part to his dad.

It wasn't long after our conversation that I got a call from Clark, telling me that his father had sold the farm to Rickman, and asking for my help to get it back. I'd love to know how Rickman managed that one.

We met later at the Beanery, and Clark immediately began telling me the latest in the Lana saga. They were fighting because Clark didn't believe the local hermit was a killer. Life in Smallville can seem incredibly fictional sometimes, and I informed him he should really read "To Kill a Mocking Bird". Clark Kent is the quintessential Atticus Finch.

Matters quickly turned from books to paperwork, however, as I explained the details of the deal his father and Rickman had made. It seemed to me as if I'd been given a second chance to save Clark's farm for him, and this time I didn't even have to converse with Mr. Kent.

A good deal, in my opinion.

I seem to recall complaining that Clark very rarely asks me for favors. I also seem to recall a saying I bet Clark's father would be fond of: 'be careful what you wish for'.

Clark apparently broke the local hermit out of prison, and decided the mansion was the perfect place to hide him. Of course I couldn't refuse him, but I do hope harboring a fugitive isn't going to become a regular thing for me now that Clark and I are friends. I'm not very fond of prison.

I had to call in Toby to patch up the injuries Clark's friend suffered, and of course Toby didn't keep his mouth shut. I saw the curiosity in Clark's eyes when Toby mentioned the knife wound he patched up for me a while back. However, Clark managed not to ask, for which I'm eternally grateful.

The next day, I once again ran into Rickman on my way to meeting Clark. He complained about my challenging his purchase of the Kent estate. I'd be willing to help Clark no matter what, but I must admit, irritating Rickman is a nice side-bonus. I also goaded him in regards to Kyle Tibbit (the hermit). There was a definite reaction there, one Rickman was horrible at hiding.

Gabe Sullivan's daughter, Chloe, was there with Clark when I finally ditched Rickman. I think I'm going to have to spend a bit more time with Chloe... it seems as if she's up on every strange occurrence. She explained that Rickman and Kyle used to sell farm equipment together. They were trapped in the meteor shower together, and suddenly their sales doubled and then some overnight. Then, in '92, the pair separated. Rickman went on to be the obnoxious jerk he is today, while Kyle decided he preferred the woods to society. The three of us decided to go ask Kyle exactly what happened.

Only he wasn't there.

Clark had a feeling he knew where Kyle went, but I didn't particularly feel like continuing on with the scooby gang adventures. I let him and Chloe continue on their way, and went to deal with some paperwork.

An hour or so later, Rickman showed up. Apparently the guard just let him through the front gate.

Do the guards not understand what the word guard means?

Anyway, he'd decided to drop Smallville from his development plans, leaving the Kents alone by extension. Then he asked for a truce, and held out his hand.

I took it.

Next thing I know, I'm in a filthy garage with a pounding headache and Clark is looking down on me, worriedly. He said I'd been out for over ten minutes. He had my cellphone in his hands, as if he were going to call for an ambulance.

What happened?

Beats the hell out of me.

Clark wouldn't reveal much, only that I'd somehow been under Rickman's control, that Rickman was dead, that I hadn't hurt him, and that my car had exploded.

Exploded?

I called for a limo to take me and Clark home, as we were most definitely in the middle of nowhere. I should have pried more, demanded details, but there were two Clarks, and I wasn't sure which one to ask.

Another concussion to add to the growing collection.

I went to see Clark in his loft the next morning. He once again assured me I hadn't hurt him in the least. He certainly didn't seem hurt.

He was musing, though, on the nature of friendship. Clark had a hard time believing that Kyle and Rickman used to be best friends, and he asked me if I thought that would ever happen to us.

Never. Not if I have anything to say about it. I assured Clark that our friendship would be the stuff of legends, and stayed to watch the sunrise with him.

It was beautiful.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.