� Hourglass

The strangest thing happened today. As I pulled up to the mansion at my usual speed, Clark Kent was there delivering my groceries. Considering I had the disastrous meeting with his folks last week, I assumed he'd be upset with me. Instead, he scolded me for driving so fast, and had the utmost concern for me in his eyes.

He told me he had been working at a retirement center, and apparently an old psychic woman was responsible for his uneasiness. I asked him what had him so upset, and he said someone very close to him was going to die.

Clark considers us to be that close?

I tried to explain to Clark that this woman is most likely a fraud, and he has no need to be concerned for my well being or anyone else's in his life. When he said his parents told him the same, I couldn't help but laugh.

First time for everything.

Clark seems to think she's real. He's apparently ignoring my distrust, as well as his parents. It seems Clark wants to know how everything will turn out, and hopes to find his answers through this woman.

How are we friends? We are completely opposite.

The concerned look was back in his eyes, as he looked down at his feet and made mention to my driving habits again. To which I laughed, and said I had no need to be careful. I had him as a friend. He saved me once, changing my future, so I was comfortable in the knowledge he'd be there again, if needbe.

He excused himself, apparently not enjoying my attempt at humor, although hinted with truth. Out of curiosity, I asked him the old woman's name.

After all, if she could see Clark's future, I wanted to know about it.

I paid Clark's friend Cassandra a visit. Charming woman. I told her she came highly recommended by Clark, letting her know how I'd heard of her. I asked her if she would give me some insight on Clark. She hesitated, I offered her money, she refused. "I can only tell the future," she stated, and refused to elaborate any more into Clark.

She was kind enough to extend her hand to me. According to Clark, she needs physical touch to connect. She was offering to glimpse into what was to come. I refused, informing her as I did Clark that I believe we make our own destiny. She was persistent, even trying to entice me by saying I should trust her, that she may even see Clark in my future.

Maybe she didn't need touch. Did she pick up on my desires for a future with Clark?

That thought alone was enough to make me leave. I said my goodbyes. She told me to come back when I was ready.

Fucking psychics. So damned insightful.

Since Cassandra refused to help me solve the mystery of Clark, I decided now was the time to confront him. He had implied that I meant something to him by his wanting me to be more careful, so I figured now's as good a time as any to ask my questions. I called the Kent farm, Martha graciously offering to pass along my message to Clark. Come over when you can.

I brought him into the garage where I housed the Porsche I had hit Clark with. Clark asked me why I still kept it, in the condition that it's in. I told him the story I had read once, about a rich man who survived a hotel fire. He had hung onto the ledge for an hour before being rescued. He then bought the hotel. Always stayed in that room. The man had said that 'fate couldn't possibly find him twice', so he held on to that hotel, that room, for security. For a reminder. I'm not sure Clark understood my story. Or how it related to me keeping the Porsche.

Sometimes I have to remind myself that this is Clark. He's still young in many ways.

I then told Clark about how I had the Porsche examined. That there was no way the impact from the bridge or the water could've caused this much damage.

He hesitated.

Then brushed it off to be an error. Clark and I had never really talked about that day in detail. I asked him if he remembered anything. 'Only that I pulled you out,' was his answer.

I'm beginning to notice Clark smiles uncomfortably when he lies.

He then accused me of dwelling to much on the past, told me I should be thankful that I'm alive and forget about the accident.

I'll never forget.

Clark's lying to me seemed to upset me more than I thought. I hadn't been able to stop thinking about him. Cassandra's proposition to look into my future was weighing heavily on my mind. Maybe I'd get the insight I needed after all by having her glance at my future. After all, Clark claims we're friends, he's shown obvious concern for me. If our friendship continued on the path it was going, even with the lies, I assumed he'd be in my future. Therefor Cassandra would be able to help me after all.

I need answers. I needed to know why I lived. Why Clark saved me. What my future had in store for me, and what part Clark was going to play in all that. I had to know. So I went to see her.

She fought me at first, maybe I was right in the beginning. She already knew without having to touch. After a little convincing, and a little challenging, she gave in. Extended her hand to me. And I took hold.

She grew silent when she took my hand. Several minutes had passed, finally her grip on my hand ceased. When I asked her what she saw, she didn't respond. I noticed she wasn't breathing. I let go of her hand, which fell silently to her side. Her eyes remained open, staring off into nothingness. No life in them, no life in her. I called for help, I didn't know what to do. I had to get out. My chest was tightening, I couldn't breath. I couldn't shake the horrible feeling I had. I wanted to run, hide, get as far away from there as I could.

Fuck.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.