� Extinction

It's been an interesting week, as far as they go. I should've expected nothing less, but I suppose I'd grown a bit accustomed to the relative peace and quiet of an abandoned island. Back to normal means something vastly different for me than most.

My father's decided that my life is worth $50 million dollars to him. I'm still not sure what to make of that, whether I should be flattered or suspicious. I leaned towards suspicion at first when, on the way to my car, I was shot at. Of course Clark was there to make sure nothing actually happened to me. I didn't realize quite how much I missed that until now. But Clark told me that this particular assasination attempt had nothing to do with LuthorCorp and my father, but was instead related to the strangeness that is Smallville, Kansas.

Clark said the man who shot at me was a serial killer of sorts, coming after those who've been affected by the infamous meteor shower years ago. It got me thinking of the strangeness that's plagued me these past few years, of the multiple near-death experiences that I've survived. I always believed the common link was Clark, from the car accident onward, but now... I'm not so sure. I've never gotten sick, aside from my brief trouble with malaria on the island. Not since said meteor shower. Is it possible I could've been infected in some way, made immune, or close to, by the rocks? I don't know. The explanation makes sense, but it does leave a lot of questions still unanswered.

Ironically, the life insurance company doesn't seem to share the same ideas about my miraculous survival instincts. My father's $50 million dollar proposal was turned down because I'm considered too high of a risk. It didn't seem to bother him too much, though, so perhaps my earlier paranoia was unfounded... at least where my father's concerned.

As far as the rest?

I'm sure I'll find out one way or the other.

<<>>


Melody and Erana
All site graphics by Candy
All characters and plot are � their creators.